Homemade Cherry Jam

IMG_2128

I don’t know how you all feel about making jam yourself. I had never done it and when I found out one of my friends just bought herself a garden here in Berlin with a huge cherry tree, I jumped at the opportunity to get my hands on those cherries and try my luck. It turned out to be a lot if work, patience and very nice tasting jam. In other words it was all worth it.

I am finding making things like jam, picking cucumber, making things from scratch with the boys is a real treat. It makes us appreciate it so much more and the boys can see how it all is made and how much work it means.

IMG_2129

Like my friends just got a garden, that would be ideal for us living in the city. Here in Berlin lots of people live in apartments and either buy/rent a little garden further out or get themselves a weekend house even further out of the city where they spend their weekends in the green, near a lake or forrest. It is  a nice escape from the city especially for children. The older they get, the more they are interested in little bugs, insects, beetles I find myself trying to show them nature without it being on a city playground between other children playing, toys and the random dog poop. I try to drive out into a forrest or to a lake as much as I can so the boys can hear the birds, watch ants do their work, experience nature without much other noise around. It seems so important today to make them aware of their surroundings because of how the world has changed.

LOVE, MamaMadola

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cherry Jam

Leave a Reply

