Lennon and my iPhone

my-first-smartphone-wooden-smartphone-537x402

Just paged through a parenting magazine ‘Nido’ and saw that according to a study (KIM-Study 2012) two thirds of kids between six and thirteen years of age are interested and glued to a cellphone/ smartphone.
I was a little shocked but then reminded myself of my own little man Lennon. He isn’t even six yet and he is already asking to play with my iPhone.
I always wonder if we as parents should give in, to the ‘new-age’ way of playing, or should we be hard and make it clear from the beginning that we don’t want them playing games on the iPhone.

I grew up without any smartphones, iPads, we didn’t even have a computer or TV. When my siblings and I wanted to play, we went outside, played in the room with cars, dolls, or we sat around looking at pictures in books etc.
But I do remember, whenever I went to a friends house, where they had a TV or computer, I was literally glued to the ‘new’ entertainment. It wasn’t very social of me.

And now that I am a mother and have to make these decisions for my son, I always wonder what the good middle path is. A little here and a little there can’t be bad. But everything in moderation.

Children-with-iPhones

But I do find it very scary how my son can un-slides/unlocks my iPhone, slides the icons to the left to reach his one game that is on my phone. He taps it, hits play and plays the game. When he is done and had enough, he pushes the home button to return to the home screen and put’s the phone down.

I downloaded the game only for the really hard times, when he is screaming on the underground train, or when he won’t sit still at a doctor’s office etc. But maybe I should delete it and stop letting him play with it.

I have made it my mission to not be on the phone as much and I try really hard to leave the phone behind when I am on the move and busy with Lennon.
And I must say, I haven’t been on the phone as much and he doesn’t get reminded of the cellular device 🙂 The nagging for the phone has almost stopped. Great!
I most definitely miss it more than he does. Its kind of sick how we believe we can’t live without these things. How it’s such a habit to check my emails all the time, check facebook and who is doing what. I mean it really is mind boggling how we depend on these devices out of habit.

*Hugs and Kisses*

Leave a Reply

