Zwischen ‘Dakke’, ‘What’s That?’ and Vbac

peaches

The little Lennon is starting to make little sentences.
It’s too sweet sometimes. It happens and I wonder if I heard right.
Yesterday he points at a bird and says: ‘What’s that?’. Not very well pronounced and a little wishy washy but it was there. Maybe I’m just the proud mother that hearing things but I believe he said it and thats enough for me 🙂

FirstWord

Otherwise it’s becoming cold and wet here in Berlin.
I’m going to bake a cake with the little prince when he wakes up from his nap. He loves to help me in the kitchen and we both love to make a big mess in the kitchen while baking and cooking. He tasts all the different things and tries to stir the dough. So cute the little man. Afterwards he gets to eat the cake and I start cleaning. Doesn’t seem fair but I don’t mind. That sweet little face makes it all worth it.

Last night I was reading an article about woman being pressured into having a caesarean section more and more. I was shocked at the increase. Don’t get me wrong, thank god we have this procedure to help us when needed, but don’t these doctors and woman think about the consequences of a caesarean? I studied nursing, midwifery and psychiatric nursing in Cape Town, South Africa and I am sometimes baffled at the way woman leave the decisions up to the doctors, nurses and midwives. Why don’t so many woman inform themselves before hand, why aren’t they proactive when it comes to having their children. I remember a friend of mine that told me she was talked into having a caesarean with her first born and that she felt lost and without any control over what was going to happen to her and her baby.
I asked her why she didn’t contact a midwife when she found out that she was pregnant. And she answered with: ‘ I didn’t know where and who to ask’. I was shocked. This friend is a well educated woman and left it up to her doctor to make the decisions. Maybe I should have told her where to go when she was pregnant. At that time I was still a first year student and wasn’t so clued up about the midwives in Cape Town. But I think I at least should have given her a little nudge to make her question her non- existent birth plan. Yes, the doctors, nurses and midwives probably most of the time know better, but being pregnant and having children is not a illness, we don’t need surgery to have children in most cases, the why do we leave it up to the people that perform surgeries all day.

VBAC_2

Ok I am venting about something completely weird. But I have been thinking about these things recently.
I am now back in Germany and in future I will have to find a Doctor that is willing to help me deliver my second baby via Vbac.
Yes, I also had a caesarean section. But it wasn’t planned, I wanted a home birth, but my dear Lennon wanted to sun tan, rather than turn into an anterior position to fit through my pelvis. So I watched my fears come true that day, but on the other end our beautiful, perfect son was born and all was worth it.

I hope that the support system here in Berlin is better than in Cape Town, I hope I can find a doctor that is open to give nature a chance and to let it be. I know that my chance to have another caesarean is high, but I want to at least try when the time comes.

What are your guys experiences? How did you deal with a birth-plan being ripped to pieces? Did you ever feel you failed because it didn’t happen they way you wished for?

Ok, I promise, next time I’ll write a little more happy and colourful 🙂

*Hugs and Kisses*

Leave a Reply

