‘Nackidei’ is the new ‘Please’

IMG_0553

This morning my dear son Lennon wanted some yogurt for breakfast.
He pointed at the yoghurt in the fridge and made it very clear that I should be moving faster to make it all happen.
I asked him to say ‘please’, as I am trying very hard to add some new words to his vocabulary, and he smiles at me and says: ‘nackidei’.
Its german for ‘ butt naked, or completely naked’. I had to laugh out aloud and he loved the reaction. He thought he was took funny and started to repeat it. I’ve noticed he says words and watches my or Papa Madola’s reaction and those words that get a laugh, he will repeat. The others he won’t repeat again. As you can imagine, we had a very happy and funny breakfast. Him eating his yoguhrt and us laughing at him saying funny words and trying to make us laugh even more.

In the last couple of days he has been adding little words to his vocabulary and I have been trying to add new ones with him. But he does in his own time and I am sure he’ll get there eventually.
Because of him growing up in an English/German language household, he mixes a lot. But he uses mostly english words. Besides the usual ‘Mama’, ‘Papa’, ‘Wau Wau’ and ‘Mooo’, he now also says: ‘Down’, ‘Water’, ‘Nackidei’, ‘More’, ‘Duck’, ‘Ball’ and ‘Daddy’ and ‘Dakke’, which is probably meant to be ‘Danke’, ‘Thank you’ in german.
As you can see its mostly english and on the one hand I cant wait for him to build sentences but on on the other hand I am not sure I want to have the ‘Why’ question coming all the time and discussions why he can or cant do something.
But I don’t have a choice and thats the way it is… Luckily due to the bilingual mess he is starting a little later than other kids.

*Hugs and Kisses*

Leave a Reply

