Fulltime Mom and Career Woman…

mom

is that doable?
Today we mothers are supposed to raise beautiful children that are well-rounded, behave like the queen and are intelligent little people and we have to also have a ‘normal’ job and earn money.
Why do feel so much pressure to go out there and find a job, earn money and have a career just to make everyone happy? Whats wrong with being a stay at home mom and be there for the kids 24/7? Not that I wouldn’t like to work outside the home a few hours a week, I think the interaction with other people would help my sanity, but why do I feel like everyone looks at me strange when I tell them that I am at home with my 19 months old son. He will be starting kindergarten this fall, then I will have the time to look for some work, and I remember that I only started kindergarten when I was 4 years old, not 20 months.
Now a days we send our kids off to Kita so we can have a career and earn money. I know that most families need the extra money and I don’t want to put those women in the same boat with the lady’s that don’t really have to work, from a financial point of view. I might be super old-fashioned, but I thought having kids also means to raise them and not ship them off to the Kita the moment they are weaned off the breast.
Oh Oh Oh, I can notice a ton in my writing. I apologise, I know that I am very fortunate to be able to stay at home and look after my son. And don’t get me wrong, I will be looking for a job for the mornings that Lennon will be at kindergarten, just to have the extra bugs and some change between play, nappy changes and explaining why he can’t draw on the wall with the crayons.
But I will drop him off at the kindergarten and fetch him before his nap time. That way I will get the whole afternoon with him and maybe next year I will consider letting him stay until 3pm. I feel there are so many things he has to learn at this stage and don’t wanna miss out on them. I would like to be there when he says his first sentence, when he starts using the potty properly, when he starts to find the patience to read a story with me and the list goes on.
Won’t I miss out on them if I leave him at the Kita the whole day just to have 3-4 hours in the afternoon until he goes to bed?

what-does-your-mom-do-for-a-job

Besides that, between changing nappy’s, cleaning the house, doing the laundry, I think I have forgotten what I enjoy. I don’t have any hobbies. What are my real interests, what could I do/make to earn some extra money and contribute on moving into a bigger home with either garden or a nice balcony? I do love to sew, love to bake, love to draw and take pretty pictures. But aren’t those the things all mothers land up liking? Have I become a typical mother that doesn’t know what she likes? Or am I just scared to start something after all this time and maybe fail? It seems so much easier staying at home and ‘just’ looking after Lennon. But that way I won’t be able to make things happen for us. I would like a garden of some sort and I am going to have to come up with a concept to make that happen for the three of us.

AdultSewing

I am thinking of coming out with a product for mothers that will include sewing and designing and I think that would be a good start. I will need some funding, but hopefully a kickstarter campaign like ‘indiegogo.com’ will help me with that. So watch this space, I might surprise all of you 🙂

Are you mom’s out there also struggle with this? What do you do for extra cash and keeping your sanity?

sewing-history

*Hugs and Kisses*

3 thoughts on “Fulltime Mom and Career Woman…

  1. Well, I don’t think anyone should look funny at you for being a sahm. But I do think if we’re going to question the point of having children and not giving up our careers, we have to include the dads in that conversation. No mother guilt without father guilt!

    As the child of a dedicated sahm, one of the first things I resolved to do upon having children was to keep my career. Not out of financial necessity (although stopping for a few years means stopping forever or starting from square one in many industries so there is that), but for the sake of my children, who don’t need to see me having a loud minil breakdown because of actual dissatisfaction and boredom.

    I think we were designed to need a variety of roles and to fill in the gaps for each other – it takes a village to do just about anything, but especially child rearing. It’s only natural to want to use the village!

    What do I do to keep my sanity? I work part time in the career I trained for, and I study to extend that career.

  2. Yes, very true. I should have added my husband into the equation. Thank you for pointing that out.
    I became pregnant during my time as a student at university and maybe because I havent had any career yet, I feel confused and disorientated about my future. And when people around me judge me for being a sahm it really hits home and I think I might be doing the wrong thing. Maybe I should be pushing for a career in my field that I studied in…

    You seem to have the perfect balance. Well done 🙂 Maybe soon I will be able to say the same.

    Thank you for stopping by on my blog!

    *Hugs and Kisses*

    • Well, looks can be deceiving. I don’t know if it’s perfect – I may have to reflect for a few more decades and then decide!

      Honestly, I think everyone with a young child feels confused and disoriented about their future. And judged. Especially judged. Maybe there’s comfort in knowing you would be judged either way – then you can drop that from your equation and be your own judge. Well, at least it takes care of one side of the equation.

      I’ll let you know if I ever stop feeling confused and disorientated. I’ll get back to fretting over this business of trying to extend my career now…

Leave a Reply

